While living here we decided (with much sadness from Will)
to just get cheap phones. Will is used to an I-Phone paid by work, so this was
a big step down. For us, it was not worth the expense while we are here. We
would really only be talking to each other and occasionally calling/texting
future friends (*crossing our fingers*), thanks to Skype and Facetime for all
needed international calls. Plus, the nice phones cost way too much monthly to
keep up for so little benefit.
| My Kiwi phone. Good ole Nokia! |
At first we were kind of bummed to only get 50 min and 2500
texts for $25 a month each. It was another comfort of home that I felt like I
was sacrificing to be here (like Internet, Velveeta and TV shows). But only
once have we come close to going over minutes because we were always using my
phone to make necessary calls to hotels/power companies, etc, and never even
close to the text limit!
Because of the small talk minute allowance, everyone here
prefers a text to a call. Anyone who we meet says, “I’ll text you to set
something up” rather than calling. I realize that people do that in the US, but
I would still call if there was going to be a lot of back and forth, wouldn’t
you? I have also had multiple business text me to confirm an apt or reservation
rather than call. At my work, most people text families to remind them of
speech appointments the day before. In the US I would never text anyone other
than my close friends, especially not my patients!
Today while I was leaving for the grocery store I thought,
“do I have my phone?” I then realized it was in my other bag, but I really
didn’t care- this coming from the girl who didn’t even go to the gas station
without my phone. I really only take my phone if I’m driving somewhere or am
expecting a call/text. It has actually been quite liberating over the past few
months not being so attached to my phone. If I get a call or text and I don’t
see it until 10 hours later, I think, ‘no big deal’. In the US I used to be
completely connected to my phone! I remember one day I left it at home and once
I realized it, I drove back 15 min to get it. I wasn’t planning on calling
anyone; I wanted it “just in case”.
Don’t act like you’ve never…
I realized being here that there is more to life than
waiting for the next possible phone call or text! It’s kind of refreshing
giving all my attention to the person/people I am with rather than looking at
my phone or a text from someone else and vice versa. I really like that Will is
not constantly working on his phone during dinner anymore (although he still
has his I-phone to play with on Wi-Fi spots). When I move back to the US, don’t
be surprised if I am not as easy to get a hold of "Cause I'm out in the club and I'm sippin' that bubb' and you're not gonna reach my telephone" :)

No comments:
Post a Comment